SDGs in General


In September 2015, more than 150 world leaders attended the UN Sustainable Development Summit held at UN Headquarters in New York to formally adopt an ambitious new sustainable development agenda.

Agreed by the 193 Member States of the UN, the Agenda, entitled “Transforming Our World: 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development,” consists of a Declaration, 17 Sustainable Development Goals and 169 targets, a section on means of implementation and renewed global partnership, and a framework for review and follow-up.

Sustainable Development

Since the 1992 UN Conference on Environment and Development —the Earth Summit— in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, the world identified a new pathway to human well-being, that of sustainable development. The concept of sustainable development, presented in Agenda 21, is defined as development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

The new sustainable development agenda builds on the outcome of the 2002 World Summit on Sustainable Development, the 2010 Summit on the MDGs, the outcome of the UN Conference on Sustainable Development in 2012 (Rio+20) and the views of people around the world.

In “The future We Want,” the outcome document of Rio+20, UN member States agreed to establish an open working group to develop a set of sustainable development goals. The proposal of the open working group, finalized in July 2014, is the core of the new 2030 Agenda for sustainable development.


* By clicking on each SDG icon you will be directed to the targets and indicators page of the given goal.

Fact Sheets on Sustainable Development Goals

Goal 1 Goal 2 Goal 3 Goal 4 Goal 5
Goal 6 Goal 7 Goal 8 Goal 9 Goal 10
Goal 11 Goal 12 Goal 13 Goal 14 Goal 15
    Goal 16 Goal 17  

Video & animated films on Sustainable Development Goals with Armenian subtitles

Linked Pages